The Archdiocese of St Andrews and Edinburgh

The Archdiocese is far flung: from the north of Fife to the south of the Borders and from east of Edinburgh to within 10 miles of the centre of Glasgow. In total it comprises the City of Edinburgh; Scottish Borders; East Lothian; Midlothian; West Lothian; Falkirk; Stirling (except the parishes of Callander & Aberfoyle & Doune & Killin and Dunblane); Fife (except the parishes of Cupar & Auchtermuchty; High Valleyfield & Kincardine-on-Forth; and Newport-on-Tay & Leuchars & Tayport); in East Dunbartonshire, the parishes of Lennoxtown, Milton of Campsie and Torrance; in North Lanarkshire, the parish of Kilsyth.

The present Archbishop, is Cardinal Keith Patrick O’Brien, who was nominated Archbishop on 30 May 1985, ordained Archbishop in St Mary’s Cathedral, Edinburgh on 5 August 1985 and created cardinal priest by the late Pope John Paul II on 21 October 2003.

In the latest statistics the Archdiocese had: 104 parishes, 139 priests in the Archdiocese, 4 permanent deacons, 12 religious communities of men, and 21 religious communities of women. There were 1,122 baptisms, and 377 marriages. The estimated weekly Mass attendance was 33,516. The estimated Catholic population in the Archdiocese was 136,500.